Often I’ll get into a Teamwork project and notice some Users in the list in the Teamwork Palette who have not been in the project for a long time. Sometimes this list will be populated with several people who weren’t even regularly work on the project.
If you are only popping in to the project to steal a detail, to check something, or if you have helped out in a pinch but may not need to get back in to a particular Teamwork file, it is a good idea to Leave the project (File > Leave Teamwork Project, or by going to Teamwork > Project > Leave Teamwork Project).
If you know that you are going to be getting back into the Project soon (the next day or in the very near future), you can Exit the Project after Sending / Receiving all changes and Releasing your Reserved Elements.
And there are reasons for this. When you Join a Teamwork Project, ArchiCAD is placing a copy of the Teamwork file on your machine that gets synched with the file that is on the BIM Server when you Send and Receive. Conveniently, ArchiCAD dumps this local copy from your local machine’s memory when you Leave, but it does not when you merely Exit. Periodically, ArchiCAD will ask you about Local Data (Projects and / or Libraries) that you have not used in ___days / months. You can take a look at your local stuff on your own through Teamwork > Project > Local Data Manager to delete line items that haven’t been used in a long time. It is only deleting your local copy and does not affect the Teamwork file on the BIM Server.
There have been several instances of people not being able to access a Teamwork file on the BIM Server, and it has usually been fixed if the Local Data for that particular project gets deleted off the User’s machine and then the User Rejoins the Teamwork Project.
Joining a Teamwork Project adds a minimal amount of time when opening a file versus just opening an Exited project from the day before or from a few weeks ago. For really large projects (big hospitality Projects for instance) this might be an issue, but typically it will simply cut down on the number of times you have to see the cleanup reminder that ArchiCAD brings up when you’ve got lots in your Local Data.